St Andrew’s hospital is currently accredited with the Australian Council on Healthcare Standards (ACHS)

Accreditation is recognised as an important driver for safety and quality improvement. It is public recognition by a healthcare accreditation body of the achievement of a set of accreditation standards by an organisation and their level of performance in relation to these standards.

Accreditation systems are considered to comprise five key elements:

  1. Governance or stewardship function
  2. A standards-setting process
  3. A process of external evaluation of compliance against those standards
  4. A remediation or improvement process following the review
  5. Promotion of continuous quality improvement.

The hospital completed the required Organisation Wide Survey with ACHS during November 2016.  This accreditation survey entailed five ACHS surveyors spending three days at St Andrew’s Hospital to verify the hospital’s compliance to the ACSQHS 10 National Safety and Quality Health Services Standards, as well as the five EQuIP standards developed by ACHS. The surveyors spent time talking with staff, patients and key committee members, as well as reviewing documentation, systems and practices.  This was the first time St Andrew’s Hospital had undertaken the full survey against the 15 standards, and the feedback from the survey team was very positive, with all core components of the standards met.

The survey overview stated:

SAH staff and executives were well versed in the requirements of the EQuIPNational Standards and the surveyors found all core actions to be Satisfactorily Met.  Surveyors were impressed with a number of innovative and successful quality improvements which are mentioned in the more detailed Surveyor Summaries for each standard.